Stem Cell and Xenograft Core

Overview of Services

The Stem Cell and Xenograft Core (SCXC) is a comprehensive resource laboratory that integrates a viable tissue bank of normal human hematopoietic cells and hematopoietic malignancies with a full range of xenograft services.

 

The SCXC is committed to facilitating and promoting translational research involving viable primary human hematopoietic tissues. Our core offers adult whole bone marrow from healthy donors and umbilical cord blood. Mononuclear and CD34+ cells from normal bone marrow and cord blood are available, and other cell fractions can be provided by arrangement. We maintain a large tissue bank of cells from hematopoietic malignancies including AML, ALL, CML, MDS and MPDs. All samples are fully annotated and frozen as viable cells. We also offer access to an immunomagnetic cell sorter (Miltneyi AutoMacs). Expertise in primary human hematopoietic stem/progenitor and leukemic cell culture and manipulation is available. For consultation or questions, please contact Martin Carroll.

 

The SCXC offers a wide variety of xenograft services from training to full-service experiments. The Core maintains a large breeding colony of immune-deficient (NSG) mice for users xenograft studies. We also offer human immune system (CD34 - transplanted) NSG mice for a wide variety of studies ranging from gene therapy to HIV. Experimental animals are housed in dedicated BSL-2 animal barrier space equipped for whole body irradiation and all necessary procedures and survival surgeries. Currently established xenograft models include normal human CD34 and leukemia engraftment, human iPS and ES-derived teratomas, human skin grafting, orthotopic human ovarian, hepatic and pancreatic tumor cell injections, renal capsule implantation. We also offer access to a dedicated optical/fluorescence (IVIS Spectrum) imaging system located within the Core's BSL-2 space. For consultation or questions, please contact Gwenn Danet-Desnoyers.

Leadership

Gwenn Danet-Desnoyers, Ph.D. - Director

(215) 746-0181, fax:(215) 573-7049

gdanet@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Martin Carroll, MD. - Medical Director

(215) 573-5712, fax:(215) 573-7049

carroll2@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Alexander (Sasha) Perl, MD. - Assistant Director

(215) 573-8478, fax:(215) 573-7049

alexander.perl@uphs.upenn.edu

Staff

Michele Arlotta- Business Administrator

(215) 898-9615, fax:(215) 573-8282

michelea@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Xiaochuan Shan, MD. Ph.D- Xenograft Project Manager

(215) 573-8581, fax:(215) 573-7049

shanx@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Tony Secreto- In-Vivo Services Coordinator

(215) 573-3705, fax:(215) 573-7049

asecreto@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Liping Zhang- Research Specialist B

zhliping@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Joshua Glover- Research Specialist

(215) 573-3705, fax:(215) 573-7049

aglover@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Melissa Lopez- Clinical Research Coordinator

(215) 573-3473, fax:(215) 573-7049

melissa.lopez2@uphs.upenn.edu

 

Winifred Trotman- Tissue Bank/Cell Processing Research Specialist

(215) 898-3974, fax:(215) 573-7049

wtrotman@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Gisela (Nikki) Brake-Sillá, M.F.A.- Research Specialist

(215) 898-3974, fax:(215) 573-7049

gbrake@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Derrick Dopkin- Research Specialist

ddopkin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

 

Location and hours of operation

Hours Location

 

Facility Hours: 24/7       

Staff Hours: Variable

BRB II/III, 7th Floor 421 Curie Blvd.

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA 19104-6160

Telephone:(215) 746-0181

Fax:(215) 573-8282

 

Click here to access map

Links and Resources

  1. http://www.med.upenn.edu/scxc/

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Gwenn Danet-Desnoyers, Ph. D.
Director
 
(215) 746-0181 fax:(215) 573-7049
 
gdanet@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
 
710 BRB
 
Michele Arlotta
Business Administrator
 
215-898-9615
 
michelea@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
 
811 BRB
 

Service list


Search available services: View: by category alphabetically
Tissue Bank - Healthy Donor (5)
Tissue Bank - Hematologic Malignancy Patient (2)
Xenograft (2)